Randy Owen is being recognized for his talents as a songwriter.  The Alabama co-founder/lead vocalist is among this year's inductees into the Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame, and will be added in the Songwriter/Artist category.  Owen will share the honor with Jeffrey Steele and Will Jennings, who are joining the Songwriter category, and Layng Martine Jr., who's entering in the Veteran Songwriter category.  The new inductees will receive their formal welcome at the 43rd Anniversary Nashville Songwriters Hall of Fame Dinner & Induction Ceremony, which will take place at the Music City Center in Nashville on October 13th.Owen has written or co-written a number of Alabama's hits, including the chart-topping singles "Feels So Right," "Mountain Music," "Lay Down on Love," and the group's first number one, "Tennessee River." He and his bandmates were inducted into the Country Music Hall of Fame in 2005.

Steele's credits include Tim McGraw's "The Cowboy in Me" and Rascal Flatts' "What Hurts the Most, while Reba McEntire, Trisha Yearwood, Pam Tillis, Billy "Crash" Craddock, and Jerry Lee Lewis have recorded Martine's songs.  Jennings co-wrote Tim McGraw's "Please Remember Me" and Rodney Crowell's "Many a Long and Lonesome Highway," as well as Eric Clapton's Grammy-winning hit "Tears in Heaven," Whitney Houston's chart-topper "Didn't We Almost Have It All," and Celine Dion's "Titanic" tune, "My Heart Will Go On."