Contact Us

Scott Taylor Band Collects 2 Texas Music Awards

LINDEN, TX – Aubrey Lynn England, from McKinney, Texas, was named Entertainer of the Year at the 12th annual Texas Music AwardsTM on March 22nd at the Texas Music Barn inside the Academy of Texas Music headquarters in Linden. England was only the second female to garner the Entertainer award in the history of the Texas Music Awards.  The first was Pauline Reese, who received the award twice.

England’s amazing year was fueled by the release of “Whiskey and You” by Sherman, Texas, group, Chapter 11.  The duet with Chapter 11’s front man, Sean Franks, spent literally months on the Texas Music Charts, and received national recognition.  The recording of the song also received the Texas Music Award for Record of the Year, an award bestowed upon songs which enjoy an elevated level of notoriety.

The Academy honored legendary performer, Freddie Steady Krc (pronounced “kurch”), with their Lifetime Achievement Award.  The unsuspecting Krc was visibly moved by the presentation, and received a standing ovation as he took the stage.

The Academy of Texas Music, Inc. is a non-profit organization and the Texas Music Barn is the venue located inside the Academy’s building at 301 E. Houston Street in Linden.  As the Academy relies solely on the generosity of the public and private sector, donations of any size are welcome, and patrons are encouraged to join the Music Friends program at the Academy website,

For more information on the awards, visit

A list of the 2014 award recipients appears below:

Luke Adair and The Big Bills for IN HERE ON THE OUTSIDE (Luke Adair and The Big Bills)

Vocal Group
Grievous Angels for GRIEVOUS ANGELS (The Grievous Angels)

Vocal Duo
Brennen Leigh and Noel McKay for BEFORE THE WORLD WAS MADE (Brennen Leigh and Noel McKay

Mark Searcy for HAZEPIPE (Mark Searcy)

“Whiskey and You” Chapter 11, featuring Aubrey Lynn England

“Praying for Rain” Jesse Brand, songwriter

Female Vocalist
Brennen Leigh for BEFORE THE WORLD WAS MADE (Brennen Leigh and Noel McKay)

Male Vocalist

Cameran Nelson for HAPPY TO BEER (Cameran Nelson)

BEAUTIFUL SIN – The Scott Taylor Band


Aubrey Lynn England (McKinney, Texas)

Danny Everitt (Houston, Texas)

Rising Star

Julia Beers (Hughes Springs, Texas)
Troy Cartwright (Dallas, Texas)

Live Band

Mark Allan Atwood and Brimstone (Ft. Worth, Texas)

Disc Jockey
Roark Smith – KPFT – Houston, TX

Broadcast Radio Station

KPFT – 90.1 FM – Houston, TX

Popular Cover
“Funny How Time Slips Away” off BEAUTIFUL SIN – The Scott Taylor Band

Artistic Excellence Awards
TCLB Live – The Captain Legendary Band

Carl T. Sprague Award
Emily Herring for YOUR MISTAKE (Emily Herring)

Lifetime Achievement Award
Freddy Steady Krc (Austin, Texas)

Best of KIX FM 108

Recommended For You

Best of the Web

Leave a Comment

It appears that you already have an account created within our VIP network of sites on . To keep your personal information safe, we need to verify that it's really you. To activate your account, please confirm your password. When you have confirmed your password, you will be able to log in through Facebook on both sites.

Forgot your password?

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

It appears that you already have an account on this site associated with . To connect your existing account just click on the account activation button below. You will maintain your existing VIP profile. After you do this, you will be able to always log in to using your original account information.

*Please note that your prizes and activities will not be shared between programs within our VIP network.

Please fill out the information below to help us provide you a better experience.

(Forgot your password?)

Not a member? Sign up here

Sign up for KIXS VIP Rewards quickly by connecting your Facebook account. It's just as secure and no password to remember!

Sign up to have exclusive KIXS VIP Rewards contests, events, coupons, presales, and much more delivered to you for FREE.